Meet Us

Board of Trustees:

The RPS has a governing Council who work with the Chief Operating Officer, HQ staff and Advisory Board to ensure that The RPS is run smoothly, maintains/sets standards and embraces change

Board of Trustees members are elected by the membership every two years. The Officers, in conjunction with the rest of the Board of Trustees, may also co-opt up to to three additional members to the Board of Trustees. These are people who bring particular skills or expertise.  

If you are interested in becoming a Trustee please click here for more information. 

For information on our: Council elections 2019

Our current Board of Trustees members are listed below:

 Robert Albright HonFRPS small 

Robert Albright HonFRPS: President

After graduating with a Law Degree from Oxford University, Robert worked in senior commercial roles in manufacturing and distribution companies, including Hawker Siddeley Aviation and Royal Mail. Since being elected an RPS regional organiser in 2004 and a trustee in 2009, he has been involved in many Royal Photographic Society activities, especially the identification and selection of a new headquarters building for The Society. He was Vice President 2015-17.


Dr Del Barrett ARPS: Vice-President 

With a background in higher education, Del is a linguist specialising in language and power, particularly the manipulation of language for political purposes. As Regional Organiser for RPS London, Del organised Bleeding London, based on Geoff Nicholson’s book of the same name, whereby participants photographed every street in London.  More recently, she has led the RPS Hundred Heroines campaign, an international initiative to recognise the contribution that women make to photography.

Del is an ardent supporter of the visual arts, particularly photography, and has contributed to a number of photographic publications.

Del is also a director of the non-profit photography initiative The Too Tired Project.

Derek Trendell 

Derek Trendell ARPS: 

Derek is a chartered accountant who spent his working career in the profession and was a partner in PWC when he retired. He lives in Hampshire and since retirement has been a trustee and treasurer or chairman of several local charities. He is a keen wildlife photographer and has been treasurer of the RPS since late 2017.

Vanessa Slawson FRPS 

Vanessa Slawson FRPS

Vanessa is an experienced qualified photographer with an extensive range of memberships and qualifications. She has been an RPS Trustee since 2012 and sits on the RPS Distinctions Committee.

Vanessa works as a Development Officer in the youth sector of the Scouting Association, as well as a volunteer County Training Manager. She is a qualified member of the CMI, a qualified NVQ assessor, an ISO Quality Management Auditor, and holds a further education teaching certificate.

Vanessa brings all of this experience to her role as a Trustee, providing advice on learning, membership and volunteering matters.

Richard Tucker ARPS 

Richard Tucker ARPS

Having been a Press Photographer Richard went on to teach film and television at Bristol University. This was followed by positions in the Directorate of The Scottish Film Council, the Scottish Council for Educational Technology and the Netherlands Institute for Audio-visual Media, Head of R&D at the Dutch Students Library for the Blind, and Deputy Director of the Force Foundation working for libraries for the blind in Africa and Russia. Richard lead seven European Commission projects on libraries, music and braille. Richard lives in Switzerland.

Alan Hodgson 

Dr Alan Hodgson ASIS FRPS

Alan has held leadership positions in a number of professional societies including as board member and president of the Society for Imaging Science & Technology serving on their nominations, audit and finance committees.

He has been a committee member of the Institute of Physics Printing and Graphics Science Group for the past 10 years, including a period as Chair.

He has been involved in the UK leadership of International Standards for Photography since 2005 and is a visiting academic to the School of Materials at the University of Manchester.

Barry Hoffman 

Barry Hoffman ARPS

Barry is Group Human Resources Director of FTSE250 IT Infrastructure firm Computacenter, responsible 15,000 employees across Europe and the Americas. He has an MBA and an MSc in Corporate Governance and is a member of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries.

Barry serves as a trustee of Sightsavers, the major international charity whose aim is to eradicate preventable blindness worldwide and he was formerly a non-executive board member of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development.

Jennie Ricketts 

Jennie Ricketts

Jennie is a picture editor, curator, consultant and mentor with over 28 years industry experience, formerly working as Picture Editor of The Observer Magazine. She launched the Jennie Ricketts Gallery in 2006 and is based in County Wicklow, Ireland.

Representing up to 18 international photographers, curated shows and collaborations in recent years have included: Karen Fuchs for the Arts University Bournemouth; Dr. Lee Karen Stow for Murray Edwards College, Cambridge, as part of their Women and War symposium, that went on to Liverpool Museum and the UN, New York; and Mike Goldwater for the National Media Museum, as part of the Adam Curle Peace Symposium for the University of Bradford. As well as a group show with Joby Hickey, Kim Haughton, Mary Furlong and Karl Burke at Solomon Fine Art in Dublin.

Jennie is also a current member of the Advisory Board for the PhotoIreland Festival.

Carol McNivern Young 

Carol McNiven Young FRPS

Carol graduated in Economics at Nottingham University and is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Marketing. She worked in senior brand marketing roles in various divisions of Boots plc including the start-ups of Boots Opticians and She later moved into the education sector developing additional skills in development and fundraising and was Marketing and Development Director at two schools before becoming a senior education marketing consultant until her recent retirement.

Originally from the north-east of England, Carol lives in Nottinghamshire where she is also active in her local photographic society, is a regional judge and gives lectures. 

The RPS House, Bristol staff team:

Simon Bibb
Membership Manager
         Awaiting Image Female
Nikki McCoy
Finance and 
Administration Manager
 Awaiting Image Female

Aisling Bradley

Andy Moore LRPS
Distinctions Manager

Debbie Cant
Membership Assistant
        Awaiting Image Female
Roxanne Moore
Front-of-House Officer
Awaiting Image Female
Lowri Clyesdale
Website Administrator
        Michael Pritchard
Dr Michael
Pritchard FRPS
Director of Education 
and Public Affairs

Emma Delves-
Broughton FRPS
Workshop Coordinator

Jackie Rumble
Finance Assistant

Gary Evans
Gary Evans ASIS FRPS
  Science Exhibition 
Sally Smart ARPS
Exhibitions Manager

Ben Fox ARPS
Distinctions Assistant
        Awaiting Image Female 
Billy-Jay Stoneman
Exhibitions Assistant

Naomi Galliford
        Mike Taylor
Mike Taylor
Chief Operating 

Alan Hitch 
Alan Hitch
IT Support Officer

         Simon Vercoe
Simon Vercoe LRPS
Distinctions Assistant

 Awaiting Image Male
Paul Jones Parry
Building Operations 
         Liz Williams
Liz Williams
  Education Manager

Jo Macdonald
Jo Macdonald
  Awards Manager

 Emily Mathisen
Web Content Manager


For department contact details please click here

For the Staff Organisation Chart, please click here